Eirik Verlo

Where are you currently located?
Tromsø, Northern Norway

Home Town:

What is your main sport?

Other key activities and hobbies? What you are doing when you have some down time.
In the summertime I love to fish, ideally as far out into the wilderness as possible.

Tell us about your background. A general overview for people on the site to get to know who you are and how you ended up where you are today.
I started snowboarding when I was around 12 years of age and my focus ended up on freeriding pretty quickly. When I was 15 I had my first real backcountry snowboarding hike, that trip ended up with me digging up two people, one of them was my friend. This made me instantly respect the mountains, and that experience is still with me today. After that I continued freeriding, especially on a splitboard, hiking my local mountains.

Craziest adventure or experience so far?
Hard to say. I have had a lot of cool trips around in my local mountains, especially the Lyngen alps. Some memorable ones have been multiple glacier campouts riding cool lines. I have also had a few near-death experiences which have been pretty crazy but which have given me a lot of experience and respect for the mountains.

Bucket list or dream trip?
I have always dreamed of riding spines in Alaska. It would also be cool to go to some exotic locations like for example the Himalayas.

Why did you want to become a Haglöfs ambassador?
I loved that Haglöfs is focusing on quality gear and at the same time as sustainably as possible. Plus its scandinavian, and I just love scandinavian gear.

Favorite gear:
It must be the Roc mimic hood jacket. Its durable, quite lightweight and very warm. Its hard to find a synthetic insulated jacket that is as warm and lightweight.