Henna Palosaari

Where are you currently located?
My home is on wheels, so location depends on the season.

Home Town:
Oulu, Finland

What is your main sport?

Other key activities and hobbies? What you are doing when you have some down time.
Splitboarding/freeriding, bikepacking, gravel riding, mountain biking, surfing, trail running, yoga, trekking, cross country skiing, photographing so basically anything done outside.

Tell us about your background. A general overview for people on the site to get to know who you are and how you ended up where you are today.
I grew up in Oulu, Finland and my whole childhood I tried to keep up with my big sister. It eventually led me to do track and field till I was 23 years old. During my heptathlon years, I already started dreaming of new adventures so after I had had enough of competitive sports I went to study in New Zealand. I got right away hooked on the feeling of freedom that surfing, freeriding and trekking in the mountains gave me. After that, I quit my office job and moved to Innsbruck to spend more time in the mountains. In the summer, I worked in an active travel company around the world and during the wintertime I snowboarded up until the pandemic brought me back home. That’s when bikepacking came along by giving me the freedom to move around, spend days outside and clear my mind. Now I’m happy to be living in my van and work remotely in bike tourism.

Craziest adventure or experience so far?
In summer 2020, I did a 4800-kilometer solo bikepacking adventure around Finland. I didn’t have any bikepacking experience, but that didn’t stop me. 41 days on the road living in a tent was a great way to test my limits and learn more about myself, definitely an adventure to remember.

Bucket list or dream trip?
I’m dreaming of an adventure where I can combine two of my passions, snowboarding and surfing on the same trip or maybe biking and snowboarding.

Why did you want to become a Haglöfs ambassador?
For me it is important that I can truly stand behind the brand’s values and products. Haglöfs makes top notch and good-looking outdoor gear in a responsible and honest way which makes them a dream adventure partner for me. I’m excited to see where we will end up together!

Favorite Haglöfs gear:
The L.I.M GTX jacket.

A quote you live by! Could be made up by you or from someone else.
You never know before you try it out.


Henna Palosaari