Sofie Gidlund

Where are you currently located?
Kiruna, Sweden

Home Town:
Kiruna, Sweden

What is your main sport?

Other key activities and hobbies? What you are doing when you have some down time.
I love to move my body in all kind of ways, preferably out in nature. Biking, climbing, hiking, yoga, cross-fit, creativity, reading and writing poetry. I also love to gather new knowledge and have a big interest for environmental science.

Tell us about your background. A general overview for people on the site to get to know who you are and how you ended up where you are today.
25 years old, born and raised in Kiruna, the northernmost city in Sweden. My parents put a pair of skis on my feet when I was 2 years old. During my childhood we spent a lot of time outside, especially in the surroundings close to our apartment in Vassijaure, located approximately 7 kilometers from Riksgränsen. I started to compete in Alpine Skiing at the age of 10 and moved to Gällivare and the alpine elite high school. When I was 20 years old, I wanted to try something new, and freeride it was. The last 4 winters I´ve been living in the alps, competing at the FWQ-circuit with the goal to qualify for FWT. My first season went really well with podiums in 7 out of 11 competitions. This season however I´ve decided to retire from competitive skiing, basically because I don´t feel the need to win or push myself in that way anymore. Instead, I want to focus on spreading love, joy, inspiration and happiness through creativity, skiing and the outdoors. The outdoors is for everyone. At the same time as my competitive career, I studied and finished a bachelor’s degree in environmental science and are currently working with sustainable development as a consultant. We only have one planet and a big dream of mine is to continue to contribute the best way I can to help and save our beautiful nature.

Craziest adventure or experience so far?
Maybe this adventure isn’t that crazy but it’s definitely one that I´ll always remember. It was late May and my friends and I decided to travel to Lyngen, Norway for a couple of days to ski-tour and camp. The first night we started touring at 11 PM, the fjord was as bright as a mirror and the midnight sun shone in our faces. We reached the summit at 3 AM and skied down in perfect spring slush. Ended the day watching the sun slowly rise back up over the horizon and finally feel asleep in our tents listening to waves from the fjord. Happiness, being truly present, surrounded by good friends, that’s a crazy adventure for me.

Bucket list or dream trip?
One of my biggest dreams is to sail and visit Iceland, Greenland and Svalbard to explore and ski.

Why did you want to become a Haglöfs ambassador?
When I was little kid I wore Haglöfs and skied in the first edition of the Vassi-collection for a couple of seasons, therefore it feels unreal to become an ambassador for a brand that´s been close to my heart for a long time. I´m very grateful to become part of such a great team to inspire and hopefully make people go outside in the nature. One of the key aspects of becoming more environmentally friendly is to understand and appreciate nature and the ecosystems, and I think that Haglöfs values and work related to that are great.

Favorite gear:
The Vassi Collection

A quote you live by! Could be made up by you or from someone else.
Don´t worry be happy! From the song written by Bobby McFerrin in 1988.


Sofie Gidlund